CPL final 2020

Unbeaten, Trinbago knight Riders won the CPL Final 2020

The Trinbago Knight Riders have won the Caribbean Premier League CPL final 2020 T20 cricket title remaining unbeaten throughout the series. In the final in Trinidad and Tobago on Thursday, Trinbago easily defeated St. Lucia Jukes by 8 wickets to lift the title.

Trinbago won all 12 games from the league stage to the final and remained undefeated. Trinbago, the most successful team in the CPL, has won the title for the fourth time overall.

Trinbago became the champion in the eighth edition after captain Kieran Pollard excelled in bowling and opener Lendl Simmons in batting.

Trinbago Knight Riders v St Lucia Zouks - 2020 Hero Caribbean Premier League Final
TAROUBA, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO – SEPTEMBER 10: Trinbago Knight Riders celebrate winning the Hero Caribbean Premier League Final match 33 between Trinbago Knight Riders and St Lucia Zouks at Brian Lara Cricket Academy on September 10, 2020 in Tarouba, Trinidad And Tobago. (Photo by Randy Brooks – CPL T20/CPL T20 via Getty Images)


Summary of the  CPL Final 2020 Match Between Trinbago Knight Riders and St Lucia Zouks

Trinbago completed the target of 155 runs set by Jux by losing only 2 wickets in 18.1 overs. Simmons remained unbeaten on 84 runs. He hit 8 fours and 4 sixes in 49 balls.

Similarly, Darren Bravo scored an unbeaten 48 runs. He hit 2 fours and 6 sixes in 47 balls. Even though Sunil Narine did not play in the final, other players did not let him down.

Tion Webster scored 5 runs, Tim Seifert 4 runs, and both of them got out while Trinbago lost two wickets for just 19 runs. But then Simmons and Bravo shared a century for the third wicket. The two shared an unbeaten 138 runs. Jux’s Scott Kugelin and Roston Chase took 1-1.

Read also CAN send salary to player’s account, which player gets how much?

Earlier, after losing the toss at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy ground, Jux batted first and lost all his wickets in 19.1 overs to score 154 runs. Andre Fletcher top-scored for Jukes with 39 runs. Similarly, opener Mark Daya scored 29, Najibullah Jadran 24, and Roston Chase 22 runs.

Trincomalee captain Pollard took 4 wickets to dismiss Jukes. Pollard scored 30 runs in 4 overs. Similarly, Ali Khan and Fawad Ahmed took 2-2 wickets.

Batman Simmons of Trincomalee was named Man of the Match in the final. Pollard, who led Trincomalee to an undefeated title, was named Man of the Series. He scored 207 runs in 11 league games and took 8 wickets in bowling.

Trinbago had previously won the title in 2015, 2017, and 2018. In addition, Jamaica’s Tawalaj and Barbados Tridents have won the title twice.


Full Scorecard of CPL final 2020 between Trinbago Knight Riders and St Lucia Zouks Click Here 


Watch the Highlight of CPL Final 2020 Between Trinbago Knight Riders And St Lucia Zouks


Leave a Reply